Wamakko, Adeyemi, Oseni, Echocho Win APC Senatorial Tickets In Sokoto, Kogi States

Echocho Win APC Senatorial Tickets

Wamakko, Adeyemi, Oseni, Echocho Win APC Senatorial Tickets In Sokoto, Kogi States

· Aspirant, youths protest in Ajaokuta, Minna

· Hassan emerges Yobe South PDP flag bearer

Wamakko, Adeyemi, Oseni, Echocho Win APC Senatorial Tickets In Sokoto, Kogi States – Former Governor of Sokoto State, Aliyu Wamakko has been returned unopposed in the Sokoto North senatorial district primary election having polled 2,059 votes to emerge All Progressives Congress (APC) flag bearer in the 2019 general election.

  In his acceptance speech, he said he would work with President Muhammadu Buhari to ensure that Nigeria becomes a better country.

  Also, a former Commissioner for Religious Affairs and Rural Development, Maishinko Mani Katami, has been unanimously elected as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate for Binji/Silame federal constituency.

  However, Senator Smart Adeyemi, Yakubu Oseni and Jubril Isah Echocho have emerged APC candidates for Kogi West, Central and East senatorial districts for next year’s polls.

  Adeyemi polled 1, 659 votes defeating Dr. Toyin Akanle, Tajudeen Bissimillahi and Mrs. Ibikunle Adedoyin who polled 104, 98 and 19 respectively, to emerge as the party candidate, while 13 votes were voided.

  The Returning Officer, Mr. Bonnie Eneh, who disclosed that 1,900 delegates were accredited, while 1,893 delegates voted, declared Adeyemi winner of the exercise having won the highest votes.

  Also in Kogi Central Senatorial district, Yakubu Oseni scored 1,100 votes to defeat the six other contestants.

  In Kogi East, Isiah Jibrin Echocho polled 2,469 votes to defeat his only opponent, Yahaya Audi who scored 308 votes.

  In a related development, youths in Niger East senatorial district yesterday protested the results of last Tuesday’s APC senatorial primaries in the zone.

  The protesters under the aegis of Coalition of Niger East Youths (CNEY) stormed the residence of Senator David Umaru to register their grievances over what they referred to as an attempt to ‘disenfranchise’ the zone in an election which outcome was already predetermined in favour of a particular aspirant.

  Also, a House of Representatives aspirant for Ajaokuta Federal Constituency under the platform of the PDP, Suleiman Siraj walked out in protest of the party’s primary election, alleging hijack and irregularities in the process.

  Meanwhile, representative of Yobe South senatorial district, Mohammed Hassan has clinched PDP’s ticket to contest the 2019 polls.

  It was learnt that Hassan and former Minister of Police Affairs, Adamu Maina Waziri emerged the party’s candidates of the party in parallel senatorial primary elections held on Tuesday in Potiskum.