Record 3 Million In Kano Support Buhari’s Candidacy

Buhari's candidacy

Record 3 Million In Kano Support Buhari’s Candidacy

Record 3 Million In Kano Support Buhari’s Candidacy – Kano State Governor Umar Abdullahi Ganduje said close to three million supporters of the All Progressives Congress voted for President Muhammadu Buhari’s candidacy in the 2019 election.

Ganduje, who is the returning officer of yesterday’s Presidential Primaries in the state said Buhari’s candidacy was affirmed by 2,931,235 party members across the 44 Local governments in Kano State.

The return was the highest so far, declared by the returning officers.

Gov. Abdul’aziz Yari of Zamfara also announced that President Muhammadu Buhari polled 98 per cent votes in the state at the All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential primary election, held throughout the country on Friday.

The Governor, who served as the party’s State Returning Officer for the Presidential Primary, made the announcement while declaring result of the primaries conducted in all the 147 Wards of the 14 Local Government areas of the state on Saturday.

He said that President Buhari, who is the only Presidential Aspirant for the position of President in the forthcoming 2019 General Elections, scored 247,847 representing 98% of the total number of the registered APC members in the State.

He said despite the fact that President Buhari was the sole aspirant for the position of President, the APC resolved to hold its primaries with a view to weighing the President’s acceptability amongst APC faithful.

In Sokoto, President Buhari scored 472, 344 votes from 23 local government areas.

Declaring the result on Saturday in Sokoto, the Chief Returning Officer, Sen. Aliyu Wamakko, said the exercise was hitch free and recorded massive turnout.

Wamakko, who is the former Sokoto state governor, commended party loyalists on the peaceful conduct of the exercise, saying that the results were delayed in view of distance and terrains to the collection centre.

At the collection centre, which is the state party headquarters, Wamakko was assisted by state party chairman, Alhaji Sadiq Achida, Elders Committee’s Chairman, Alhaji Maigari Dingyadi among others.

He listed the scores from LGAs, Sokoto South 36, 710, Wamakko 31, 941, Shagari 21, 920, Tureta 8, 779, Sokoto North 26, 787, Silame 13, 205, Raba 14, 705, Kebbe 15, 932, Bodinga 22, 188 and Isa 25, 010.

Others were Wurno 13, 243, Kware 17, 970, Binji 7, 478, Goronyo 20, 777, Yabo 11, 008, Tambuwal 23, 347, Tangaza 15, 079, Dange-Shuni 21, 024, Gwadabawa 26, 172, Illela 31, 692, Gada 27, 069, Sabon-Birni 31, 492 and Gudu 8,850.