Melaye Wins PDP’s Kogi West Senatorial District Primaries


Melaye Wins PDP’s Kogi West Senatorial District Primaries

· Presidency backs Shehu Sani for Kaduna Central

Melaye Wins PDP’s Kogi West Senatorial District Primaries – The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has declared Dino Melaye winner through affirmation to fly the flag for Kogi West senatorial district in the 2019 general elections.

  There was a twist in the primaries as four other contenders in the race were not cleared by the party’s screening committee, while two others stepped down for Melaye who just defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the party.

  Those who stepped down for Melaye were former Commissioner of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Tolorunjuwon Faniyi and representative of Kabba/Bunu/ Ijumu federal constituency in the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Yusuf.

   However, representative of Yagba federal constituency, Sunday Karimi, former Acting Governor of the state, Clarence Olafemi, Henry Ojuola and Ganiyu Salaudeen all from the Yagba federal constituency, were not cleared.

  Returning officer for the exercise, Jude Sule, said Melaye scored all the delegates votes from the seven council areas in the district.

  In his reaction, Melaye said the affirmation was Shocking but not surprising, bearing in mind that he has represented the zone well in the Senate.

  Meanwhile, representative of Kaduna Central senatorial zone, Shehu Sani may be close to victory in retaining his ticket for the 2019 as he contests the primaries as the sole aspirant, as he is said to enjoy the backing of President Muhammadu Buhari and national leadership of the party.

   Although the primary was suspended in Kaduna yesterday, Sani was returned unopposed as the sole aspirant for the primaries rescheduled for today, as shown by the list of cleared aspirants released by the National headquarters of APC.

  Besides, the Special Adviser to Governor Nasir El-Rufai on Political Affairs, Uba Sani and other aspirants from Kaduna Central zone were not cleared for the election.