INEC presents certificates of return to governors-elect, others.

inec governors return certificate

INEC presents certificates of return to governors-elect, others.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) yesterday issued certificates of return to the governors-elect and elected members of the state Houses of Assembly to officially validate their victory in the 2019 polls.

  The National Commissioner in charge of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Niger, Kaduna and Plateau states, Professor Antonia Okoosi-Simbine, while presenting the Certificate of Return to Kaduna State Governor Nasir Ahmed el-Rufai, said the reality was that Nigerian democracy is deepening incrementally, having conducted the sixth successive election without an interregnum, pointing out that there is improved integrity in the electoral system and becoming more competitive, as the margin between winners and runners-up are decreasing, making elections increasingly becoming inconclusive.

  The national commissioner, who congratulated the elected state Assembly members, including those who are returning, noted that they should provide the necessary oversight of the Executive and put the state in good stead to deliver the benefits of the democracy.

  In Yobe State, INEC Supervisory National Commissioner, Baba Shettima Arfo, while presenting certificates of return to governor-elect, Maimala Buni; his deputy, Idi Gubana and 24 members-elect of State House of Assembly in Damaturu, urged them to fulfill their electioneering campaign promises to the electorate.

  In the same vein, INEC has presented a certificate of return to Akwa Ibom State Governor Udom Emmanuel and 25 out of the 26 members-elect of the state House of Assembly.

  The state REC, Mike Igini, said that the Essien Udim state constituency result was announced under duress as such refused to give a certificate of return to the winner, Mr. Nse Ntuen.

  Also, the INEC National Commissioner in charge of Ogun, Ondo, and Lagos states, Dr. Adekunle Ogunmola, yesterday presented the Certificate of Return to the Ogun State Governor-elect, Dapo Abiodun.

  Twenty-six candidates who won their constituency seats into the state House of Assembly were also given their certificates of return at the state INEC office in Abeokuta, the state capital.

   In a related development, the electoral body has issued certificates of return to 30 House of Assembly members-elect in Anambra State.

  Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Dr. Leo Nkwachukwu Orji, while presenting the certificates at the commission’s state headquarters in Awka, the state capital, said the certificates were proof of evidence that the elected party flagbearers got their mandate from their respective voters.